फेब्रुअरी 15, 2020 Live from the road


Reported by Devashishu Torpy 10.0 km

The 14th edition of the Pokhara marathon takes place today

Holding the torch is the South East Asian record holder for the marathon, the much loved Baikuntha Manandhar. His record of 2:15:03 still remains unbroken.

Before the marathon starts Baikuntha Manandhar carries the torch up to the starting line.

There are 7000 people competing in the 5K, 10K and Marathon.

Here go the lead runners.

Followed by the Peace Run team who are doing the 5K Fun Run.

The organiser of the marathon is Tej Bahadur Gurung and here we see his wife running with the torch.

The Chief Minister of Gandaki Pradesh carries the torch.

The wife of the finance Minister, Mrs Sreshta, carries the torch.

Mrs Poonam Gurung (middle) is President of the Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) in the United Kingdom.

The NRNA support many large projects in Nepal and abroad.

Approaching the finish line.

The organiser of the marathon, Tej Bahadur Gurung (left), passes the torch to everyone. He is also the Vice-President of the Nepal Olympic Committee and a strong supporter of the Peace Run.

Friends of the NRNA hold the torch.

Dr Davidson Hepburn (far right), the former President of the 35th General Conference of UNESCO, presents Torch Bearer Awards to Baikuntha Manandhar (left), The Chief Minister of Gandaki Pradesh (second from left), Tej Bahadur Gurung (second from right).

Blind athletes have the opportunity to compete in the sprint races.

Sweta Pradhan, coordinator of the Peace Run in Nepal, stands with the Vice-President of the Nepal Olympic Committee, Tej Bahadur Gurung.

Race medalists hold the torch.

Tej Bahadur Gurung awards Dr Davidson Hepburn with a Pokhara International Marathon plaque.

Salil Wilson, Executive Director of the Peace Run, also receives a plaque.

Sweta Pradhan also receives a plaque.

A very happy Peace Run team!

Torch carried by
Adhiratha Keefe (United States), Anubha Baird (Australia), Devashishu Torpy (Great Britain), Florbela Caniceiro (Portugal), Harashita Sunaoshi (Japan), Homagni Baptista (Australia), Kanyaka Arini (Indonesia), Mahakulina Obersnel (Slovenia), Nepalese Runners (Nepal), Nikolaus Drekonja (Austria), Salil Wilson (Australia), Shumbhani Juarez (Guatemala), Sweta Pradhan (Nepal), Tyagini Furukawa (Japan), Urdhacheta Yap (Singapore), Zakir Hossain (Bangladesh).  
Shumbhani Juarez, Urdhacheta Yap
The torch has travelled 10.0 km in Pokara.

Latest reports from Nepal - 2024

view all

Latest reports - around the world:

view all