May 10, 2017 Live from the road

Masterton - Hutt Valley

Reported by Ailsa Barker, Don Kerr, Jim Lawless 3.0 km

Many thanks to Kylie Bell (pictured above) and Mark Wellington of the Highwayman Motel for the wonderful accommodation.

Jo (pictured) and Craig Edwards were our kind hosts at the very comfortable Discovery Motor Lodge. Many thanks for our lovely stay.

Stonehenge Aotearoa.

A big thank you to Richard Hall and Kay Leather, our hosts and guides at Stonehenge Aotearoa.

The Matariki (Seven Sisters) statue at Stonehenge Aotearoa.

Jesse and Anton lead the Peace Runners to the Peace Statue at Masterton.

Tina Te Tau-Brightwell representing Rangitane, accepts a certificate of appreciation as one of the Maori groups who initiated the long history of peace in the region.

Prints of the artwork 'Plant a Tree for World Harmony', by Sri Chinmoy, are presented to Tina Te Tau-Brightwell representing Rangitane, and PJ Devonshire representing Kahungunu, acknowledging the long history of Wairarapa as the "Bloodless Province".

Mayor Lyn Patterson welcomes the Peace Run team to Masterton, and accepts a beautiful painting by Sri Chinmoy entitled 'World-Harmony'.

Council staff, Iwi, Press, and members of the public hold the Peace Torch.

Aaron Bacher from MDC was instrumental in organising the events in Masterton.

Those present touch the Maori Peace Statue while a karakia is offered. Hoani Paku, MDC Maori Liaison Officer is front left.

We are welcomed to Masterton Intermediate School by four athletes, one from each of the four syndicates that represent Wairarapa rivers.

Principal Russell Thompson joins the welcome to the Peace Team.

Everyone joins in enthusiastically singing the World Harmony Run song.

Pupils have a moment to feel their heart beat, and reflect on 'Peace Begins with Me'.

Students hold the Peace Torch and and make a wish for Peace.

And the teachers joined in.

Principal Russell Thompson makes his own wish for Peace.

This beautiful clock is one of many in the school foyer, constructed by pupils.

Torch carried by
Ailsa Barker (New Zealand), Don Kerr (New Zealand), Jim Lawless (New Zealand), Nelson Myers-Daly (New Zealand), Niryana Marshall (New Zealand), Prageeti Myers-Daly (New Zealand), Pragunya Daly (New Zealand), Sean Abbott (Fiji), Shvastanee Ballantyne (New Zealand), Urdhacheta Yap (Singapore), Vera Sevastiyanova (Russia).  
Don Kerr, Nelson Myers-Daly, Urdhacheta Yap
The torch has travelled 3.0 km from Masterton to Hutt Valley.

Latest reports from New Zealand - 2023

view all

Latest reports - around the world:

view all