Sept. 24, 2017 Live from the road


Reported by Niryana Marshall 5.0 km

Lake Taupo

Peace Run team with lake Taupo behind them.

Many drivers acknowedge the team by sounding their car horns.

A joyful Peace Runner.

Running the hills.

Jim leading the team.

Reaching the Taupo Botanic Gardens.

Peace Runners listening to the Taupo Peace Tree plaque dedication ceremony.

Shawn Vennell of Greening Taupo receiving the Torch-Bearer Award.

Shardul Dillicar from the Peace Run team with Graeme Robinson of Waipahihi Botanical Reserve unveiling the Peace Tree Plaque.

Making a wish for peace.

The new bronze Peace Tree plaque.

Taupo Peace Tree plaque includes a poem by Sri Chinmoy.

Torch carried by
Ailsa Barker (New Zealand), Daniel Rubin (New Zealand), Dhiraja Mc Bryde (New Zealand), Don Kerr (New Zealand), Janett Singh (Germany), Jim Lawless (New Zealand), Lorainne Te Punga (New Zealand), Nirakara Lincoln (New Zealand), Nirvyaja Holley (New Zealand), Niryana Marshall (New Zealand), Prageeti Myers-Daly (New Zealand), Sean Abbott (Fiji), Shardul Dillicar (New Zealand), Shelley Palmer (New Zealand), Shvastanee Ballantyne (New Zealand), Vera Sevastiyanova (Russia).  
Niryana Marshall
The torch has travelled 5.0 km in Taupo.

Latest reports from New Zealand - 2023

view all

Latest reports - around the world:

view all