March 9, 2020 Live from the road

Lake Mary, FL - Sanford, FL

Reported by Santiva Morrison

Brahmata practicing her ukulele before the ceremonies.

Dave all ready to run to our first ceremony of 2020 in North America!

Mini and her daughters guiding us to our first ceremony at Crystal Lake Elementary in Lake Mary.

Brahmata teaching students how to find peace in their hearts.

The two teachers and students chosen for their selfless service at school showing compassion and love creating a more peaceful world are Naeli Janvier, Vito Piacenti, Mrs, Susan Rutherford and Mini Martinez.

Selfie time!

Principal Rick Carver receiving a painting by Sri Chinmoy, Founder of the Peace Run.

Coach B. guiding us and his running club outside for a nice run and peace tree planting.

Principal Carver and Santiva planting a peace tree. The school will add a buddy bench to make it a place where students can go and sit if they are feeling lonely or sad. Students and teachers will know that this is a time to be kind and offer friendship to the student seating on the bench, part of their Positive Behavioral Support initiative.

We would like to thank principal Rick Carver and Brenda Knight for their wonderful heartfelt welcome at Crystal Lake Elementary. We are most grateful for your hard work and enthusiasm receiving the Peace Torch in your school.

Entering our second school of the day: Wicklow Elementary.

Fantastic welcome by all students standing in their hallways showing us the countries that they have been studying for a month!

Very attentive to our presentation

Beautiful performance by students at Wicklow Elementary

Introducing the Peace Run to our friends.

Singing the World Harmony Run song with us

Coach Fritz from Haiti, speaking to students about the beginning of his inspiration for coaching came from his first school, Wicklow Elementary.

Students and teachers receiving the Peace Run Torch-Bearer Award for their efforts in making a positive difference in their school are from left Kylie Parshall, Angel Ruiz, Felix Arroyo and Kelly Venn-Thorpe.

Principal Martina Herndon receiving our Certificate of Appreciation and a painting by Sri Chinmoy as an offering of our gratitude for their participation in the Peace Run 2020.

Wicklow Elementary Garden Club planting a lemon peace tree.

We would like to thank Lisa Hengehold, on left, for a wonderful job organizing all of today's events for her school. We are very grateful for all the hard work of the teachers and students also!

Everybody run!

Magnificent welcoming by Bentley Elementary!

Art work throughout the whole school

The whole school lined up waiting enthusiastically for the Peace Torch to arrive wearing their peace hats, colorful art signs and waving flags!

Principal Martha Garcia carries the Peace Torch.

Cool hats!

Students performing a song in their beautiful garden.

Dave feeling peace in his heart

Peace tree planted by the students

Enthusiastic students!

The children did a wonderful performance of the song 'We are the World'.

Virangini playing the guessing game with students... Where is she from???

Some of our runners offered short, amusing skits demonstrating behaviors that the children had to judge as being peaceful or not. Each behavior we do in life can either add to peace around us or detract from a more peaceful world.

Chosen to receive the Torch Bearer Award Medal for their selfless service at school and community are from left: Jazelle Richardson, Riley Booth, Jackie Grimes, and very first Principal of Bentley School for 20 years, Mr. Ron Nathan.

Offering our gratitude to Bentley Elementary for such fantastic job, hard work and enthusiastic welcoming of the Peace Torch to their school.

Principal Martha Garcia and peace runners behind their new peace tree

Wing, originally from Taiwan but has been living here for many years, joined us today. She is a runner and parent who is very active in her local school community. Thank you for your participation!

We would like to thank Principal Garcia and Caryn Hinrichs for organizing such an unbelievable welcome to the Peace Run at their school today. Gratitude!

After visiting Bentley Elementary it was time to run 2 miles to our next and last school of the day, Idyllwilde Elementary School.

We were lucky to have with us Coach Fritz, our friend Wing, Coach Sonia Carmona at front, Coach Brandy Moore and Sonia's daughter, 5 yr old Celeste, who ran the 2 miles with us!

Go team go!

Arriving at Idyllwilde Elementary School

What a nice welcome, thank you Idyllwilde!

The running club

That's what I call being excited!

The students have to find the country or city where each peace runner is from on the map.

Playing the guessing game.

Naughty girls!

The Peace Run Torch-Bearer Awards were given to some of the students selected for their outstanding contributions in word and deed to their school and community which contributed to a more peaceful world around them.

Our Torch Bearer's for Idyllwilde Elem. are Natalia Voltaire, Riley Sillaway, William Tillman, Fritz Voltaire and Nellivette Soto.

Running a few laps with the Peace Torch in school playground.

Principal Lenore Logsdon receiving a certificate of appreciation and a painting by founder of Peace Run, Sri Chinmoy. Thank you for organizing such wonderful programs at your school.

Santiva and Dave with our good friends.

Coach Fritz Voltaire and his daughter Natalia.
Thank you Fritz and Shelly for organizing for us such wonderful schools and a church to visit today. We are very grateful for your support for Peace Run 2020. You are officially a peace runner from now on!

Thank you for your hard work!

Brahmata's new friends.

The whole group in front of Peace Tree which was planted at the school entrance.

After a very busy day visiting 4 schools Dave invited the team for a nice dinner at a Mediterranean restaurant. Infinite gratitude!

Torch carried by
Arpan DeAngelo (United States), Banshidhar Medeiros (United States), Brahmata Michael (Canada), Daniel Watts (United States), Dave Morrison (United States), David Morrison (United States), Harita Davies (New Zealand), Santiva Morrison (United States), Savadhan Steele (United States), Vajra Henderson (United States), Virangini Afzal (United States).  
Arpan DeAngelo, Banshidhar Medeiros

Latest reports from United States - 2024

view all

Latest reports - around the world:

view all